Did I really go this long without talking about Zeeks?

If I did, something was seriously wrong with me.  I first had Zeeks delivered in Phinney Ridge, a regular pepperoni, about a year ago.  It was another month or two before I realized what a great sit-down place it was too – great fun for kids but also really comfortable and casual for adults.  During the summer I was there almost weekly – the outdoor seating was plentiful and shaded on a sunny day, and they serve up pitchers of Manny’s for those days that you need a little something extra. 

Now I get Zeeks delivered from the Green Lake store, which is one of nine locations they have (along with the two I’ve mentioned, they also have a Ravenna store and a Fremont/Queen Anne store in north Seattle).   Besides the convenience of having a Zeeks right up the street (which was the case for both the Phinney and the Green Lake stores), the pizza is phenomenal.  I used to be a die-hard Papa John’s fan, thinking that was “top of the line” pizza.  But Zeek’s blows Papa John’s out of the water.  And Pizza Hut, Dominoes, and the rest of those national chains just don’t come close.

My favorite thing on the menu is the John Candy.  I’m a meat eater, so this is ideal for me – it has Canadian bacon, pepperoni, Italian sausage, mozzarella and oregano.  And just to make it extra special, I add pineapple for a little refreshing treat.  But don’t worry if you don’t like meat – they have some incredible veggie pizzas too.  Most of my friends of that persuasion like the Veggie Thai, which has peanut sauce, broccoli, red onions, green peppers, bean sprouts, carrots and cilantro. 

The bad news – Zeeks ain’t cheap.  My medium John Candy tonight with added pineapple ran me just shy of $24 before tip.  BUT, it fed two people and I have three slices left over for tomorrow – a night out a cheap restaurant would have cost more and I wouldn’t have anything to show for it tomorrow. 

For those that have never ordered Zeeks before, I have two names to throw out at you – Ben & Jerry’s.  That’s right – along with your pizza you can order single serving or pint-sized ice cream cartons for dessert. 

Now that I sound like a walking advertisement for my favorite pizza place, I think I’ll go have another slice!

Leave a Reply

