Buy Local, Dress Local

I woke up to a million tweets and Facebook posts today from people I know that were up early at Target, Wal-Mart, Fred Meyer, Macys, Best Buy, and other large chain stores.  You won’t catch me there on black Friday in a million years – this girl HATES to shop.  There is nothing more trying on my patience than having to pick through things that are now in an incredibly unorganized display, stand in line for more than five minutes, and then realize that yes, you did save money on that.  But, no, you didn’t need to buy it.  And the guilt ensues.

I pledge this year that I will not buy one single Christmas present at a national chain store. All my shopping will come from locally owned and operated ventures, so that I can support my community and our own economy. (By locally owned, I am including all of north Seattle, but not setting foot into the Northgate Mall).  As I buy my gifts, I’ll tell you where I got them (that helps keep me honest).

I’d like to say that I started today, but I didn’t.  Well, I did shop.  I visited Frock Shop at 6500 Phinney Ave N (across 65th from Mae’s Phinney Ridge Cafe).  Where I bought fabulous gifts for myself.  I know I shouldn’t have, but I had been eyeing a certain trench coat for weeks as I walked or drove by, and when I stepped in to Frock Shop I was told everything was 20% off, and well, one thing led to another….and somehow a red sweater caught my attention….

Ahem. Bottom line, I shopped local.  And do you know how much I paid for that trench coat? $54 – which is next to nothing for a nice high quality coat.  So, my first point is that shopping local doesn’t always mean spending more money.

My second point is that you’re helping support the local economy – aka, your neighbors.  Frock Shop is owned by local resident Suzy Fairchild, whose mother rang up my purchases today after helping me find the perfect clothes for what I need.  And in addition to supporting them, you’re also supporting the local artists and designers who get to sell their clothes and jewelery inside Frock Shop.

So follow along the next few weeks as I finally get around to Christmas shopping.  And try it yourself – you might be pleasantly surprised.

Leave a Reply

