The mysterious disappearance of North Seattle Sarah

Ok, it wasn’t that mysterious.  After all, I did have to get someone to cover me at work.  But you may have noticed the girl who blogs almost daily hasn’t written a post since the middle of last week.  So where have I been?  Expanding my horizons and getting some perspective on the world (and, of course, missing Green Lake).

Last Thursday I flew out to Norfolk, Virginia where a friend of mine lives.  Her husband, also a good friend of mine, just got deployed for his first time in the Navy – he’s in Spain about to leave for west Africa.  So, his deployment seemed like a perfect time to get a few days of girly fun.  Needless to say, there were margaritas involved.

It was amazing seeing a culture that I found so different I might as well have been in a different country.  For instance, I’d never seen signs on a street before that prohibited cursing until I strolled down the avenue at Virginia Beach:

But I don’t know that I’ve ever seen a sunrise so pretty as when its coming up over the Chesapeake Bay:

After a few days in Virginia, my friend and I drove up to Washington, DC.  I’d never been, and it was so amazing to see the Lincoln Memorial, Vietnam Wall, Washington Monument and more.  We stopped by the White House, went through the botanical gardens, and spent ages inside the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History.

I do have to say though, I am glad to be home.  There is a lifestyle we in north Seattle possess that the rest of the country just hasn’t grasped: that of stopping for pedestrians, recycling your water bottle, and saying hello when you walk down the street.  So today I took a longer-than-usual stroll around Green Lake and enjoyed 2.8 miles of sunshine and smiles.  But I’m back, so continue to read the blog for local news, real estate stats, and events!

Leave a Reply

