Readers: How safe do you feel in north Seattle?

I woke up this morning to see a tweet from the Seattle Police Department linking to a breaking story involving a man who had been shot at Ravenna Park.  This comes a little too soon after a wave of crime has hit the area, including burglaries, child luring, and the shooting several weeks ago that occurred at Woodland Park.

Which leads me to question, how safe do residents feel in the neighborhood?  According to the Police Department, the local burglaries were mostly crimes of opportunity where a window or door was left unlocked.  Being someone who consistently locks my door (and has a large dog), does that mean I’m safe from that?  One of the recent north Seattle burglaries involved the suspect threatening the residents with a knife.

In the few years that I’ve lived in north Seattle I have felt that it was one of the safest neighborhoods in the city.  I’ve had no fear going out for a run at 5 a.m. in the dark, or stopping to say hello to other pedestrians as I walk to and from local businesses.

Readers – I want to hear from you.  Do you feel that north Seattle – and your particular micro-hood – is still a safe place?  Have you changed any of your habits due to the recent crime postings? Leave your responses in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

